Know your Rights and respect your neighbor’s Rights.

Be aware and knowledgeable about the law and your rights under the law.  It’s your responsibility to be a good neighbor and respect the rights of other community members. The law is the law.  Not knowing the law is not a permissible defense.  Know the laws, and know the consequences of breaking the laws.  This is a place to start for information. It is provided as a courtesy, not as legal advice. Please go directly to the referenced Websites for the most current information. Knowledge is prevention!


Click here to see the University Response to Off-Campus Noise & Trash Violations



Laws you should know

Infractions are punishable by fines only (not physical arrest), whereas misdemeanors are punishable by physical arrest, up to a year in jail and fines.  Therefore, if you cooperate with the police, you will not be arrested for loud noise or an MIP. If you provide false information, interfere with an officer (e.g. running from an officer), act violent or threatening, etc., then you will be arrested and probably charged with both offenses.  Remember: Any time you do something illegal off campus, you will face university conduct sanctions, too!



Special Response Notice

First police response to a violation of the Corvallis Municipal Code may include a written notice that the activity must cease. Second police response within 30 days arising out of the activity will result in citation, physical arrest, and/or civil fines. A Special Response Fee will be charged to each person deemed liable for violations such as littering, amplified noise and urinating in public. Separate fees will be charged for each subsequent police response. Citations can be given with SRNs on first contact!”  THE FEE CAN BE OVER $1,000!


NOISE (Article 5.03.030 Noise)

  • Loud noise, infraction: Making any unreasonably loud, disturbing, or unnecessary noise. Applicable 24 hours a day.  
  • Unlawful amplified sound, violation: Playing a sound device (such as a stereo, TV, or radio) which is audible for more than 50 feet from the source of the sound. Applicable 24 hours a day.

ALCOHOL (Article 5.03.040 Alcohol & Drugs)

  • The legal drinking age in Oregon is 21 years old. Oregon law prohibits anyone, except a parent or legal guardian, to provide alcohol to a minor or juvenile. A minor is any person under the age of 21 and a juvenile is any person under the age of 18. Parents or guardians may legally provide alcohol only to their minor child in a private residence when accompanying their child. A parent cannot transfer this responsibility to another adult or to a public place. If you allow your property and/or home to be used for a party where minors consume alcohol, other than your children in your presence, you may have to forfeit property and may be issued a citation to circuit court.
  • Consumption or possession of an open container of alcohol in a public place, misdemeanor: No open containers of alcohol allowed on any street, sidewalk, alley, public grounds, building, or place open and available to the general public, or while in a motor vehicle on premises open to the public.
  • Hosting a Party for Minors, misdemeanor: If underage people are caught drinking in your residence you may be charged with a misdemeanor. Those responsible for furnishing alcohol to minors, or for hosting a party where alcohol is consumed or possessed by minors, will receive a mandatory minimum sentence of:
    • Strike 1:  $500 fine
    • Strike 2: $1,000 fine
    • Strike 3: $1,500 fine + minimum 30 days imprisonment
  • Minor in possession of alcohol (MIP), infraction: No person under the age of 21 years shall possess, either in a container or in the person’s system, any alcoholic liquor on private or public property. Individuals under the age of 21 arrested for purchase or possession of alcoholic liquor (MIP) will have their driving privileges suspended for up to one year.
  • Minor in posession of fake-IDinfraction. No minor shall falsely represent that she or he is of any age other than his or her true age, or produce any evidence that would falsely indicate his or her age, for the purpose of securing any right, benefit, or privilege denied minors by Section
  • Driving under the influence of an intoxicant (DUII), misdemeanor or felony: Driving a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) content of .08 or higher, or driving while under the influence of a controlled substance or an inhalant.  *Note that refusing to take a breath or blood test is an additional offense with a fine of $650 and the potential for suspension of driving privileges.  As the party giver, you are also liable for someone who leaves your house and drives under the influence!

OTHER (Title 5 Offenses)

  • Smoking, infraction: Smoking is prohibited in all enclosed public places and within 10 feet of the entrance of all enclosed public places.  It is also prohibited in any line of people waiting for service (inside and outside) and within 10 feet of any line.  Smoking is also prohibited on all Oregon State University property!
  • Possession of Marijuanapunishable by minimum $500 fine. No person shall knowingly or intentionally possess marijuana, in an amount less than one avoirdupois ounce, unless the substance was obtained directly from, or pursuant to, a valid prescription or order of a practitioner while acting in the course of professional practice or except as otherwise authorized by State law.
  • Littering, misdemeanor: Throwing away trash (including, but not limited to, leaves, broken glass, bottles, soil) on public or private property without permission.
  • False information to officer, misdemeanor: No person shall knowingly use or give a false or fictitious name, address, or date of birth to any police officer for the purpose of the officer issuing or serving the person a citation.
  • Violent Conduct, misdemeanor: No person shall intentionally cause public inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm or recklessly create a risk thereof by engaging in fighting or behaving in a violent, tumultuous, or threatening manner.
  • Resisting arrest, misdemeanor: Intentionally resisting a police officer when the officer is making an arrest. Third parties can be arrested for this crime if they resist another person’s arrest.
  • Interfering with officer, misdemeanor. Preventing or attempting to prevent a police officer from performing his/her duties with regards to another person OR refusing to obey a lawful order given by a police officer.
  • Human Waste, infraction. No person shall deposit any human waste on property open to or visible by the public. 

Learn more about what's not legal in Corvallis.  

Learn more about Oregon's alcohol laws and minors.

Learn more about partying in CorvallisVisit the Corvallis Police Department Web Site